Thursday, 19 April 2012

ESC 2012, semi-final 2 - Belarus

Litesound is a Belarusian-Italian pop-rock boyband that will represent Belarus in the Eurovision Song Contest 2012. The band is composed of the two brothers Dmitry and Vladimir Karyakin, and Italian singer Jacopo Massa.

The band, originally conveived as an acoustic duo, was formed in 2002 by the brothers Dmitry and Vladimir Karyakin. In 2004, the band was changed into a quartet, also including bassist Mario Gulinsky and drummer Sergey Grinko. In 2006, the band won the Maiori International Music Festival, held in Italy, during which they met Italian singer Jacopo Massa, also taking part in the competition. Jacopo and Litesound started co-working, and Jacopo appeared as a guest in serveral concerts of the band. He later became an official member of the band, while Gulinsky and Grinko left the group in 2006. In 2010, the band released the debut album Going to Holliwood, including the single Solo Per Te.

Litesound participated 5 times at the Eurofest which is the Belarussian national final for the ESC:
  • 2006 - My Faith, 6th
  • 2007 - Summer Trip, 2nd in the semi-final in the televoting but ignored by the jury of "experts"
  • 2008 - Do You Believe, equal 2nd
  • 2009 - Carry On, 3rd
  • 2012 - We Are The Heroes, 2nd
Originally, Litesound came 2nd in the Belarussian national final after Alena Lanskaya with the song All My Life.

However, the Belarusian president conducted an investigation about an alleged fraud in the televote, which turned out to be true. As a result of the investigation, the original winner was disqualified. Litesound were then internally chosen to replace Alena Lanskaya to represent Belarus in the Eurovision Song Contest 2012.

No comments:

Post a comment