Friday, 10 September 2010

Germany 1992

The German Final was held in Magdeburg, hosted by Carmen Nebel. The winning song was chosen by the votes of 11 regional juries, each giving one point to their favourite song from the six competing.

The winner was Wind with the song Träume sind für alle da, composed by Ralph Siegel with lyrics by Bernd Meinunger. Wind had previously represented Germany at the 1985 and 1987 contests with Für alle and Laß die Sonne in dein Herz, coming 2nd both times.


01. Träume sind für alle da - Wind, 7 points
02. Licht am Horizont - Blaue Engel, 3 points
03. Wir seh'n uns wieder - Lena Valaitis, 1 point
04. Shalalaika - Susan Schubert, 0 points
04. Blue Farewell River - Relax, 0 points
04. Der letzte Traum - Bernhard Brink, 0 points

Wind performed 22nd on the night of the contest. Träume sind für alle da received 27 points, placing 16th of 23 countries.


 Wind is the name of a German musical group that mostly plays schlager music. The band is still active, more than 20 years after its foundation.

The group was started in 1985 by the composer Hanne Haller. The members of the band at that time were Alexander "Ala" Heiler, Christiane von Kutschenbach, Rainer Höglmeier, Willie Jakob, Sami Kalifa and Petra Scheeser.

The group has participated in the Eurovision Song Contest for Germany 3 times. The first time was shortly after the formation of the band, in Eurovision 1985. With the song Für alle they finished 2nd, just behind the winning duo Bobbysocks from Norway. In 1987 Wind returned to the contest, performing Laß die Sonne in dein Herz in Brussels, Belgium. Once again they achieved a second place, this time behind Johnny Logan who represented Ireland. Wind entered Eurovision for a third time in 1992 in Malmö, Sweden, with the song Träume sind für alle da. This time they were not as successful, finishing 16th of 23 participants. According to John Kennedy O'Connor in his book The Eurovision Song Contest: The Official History, Wind are the only act to ever finish second in the contest on two occasions.

The group is a heavy hit-producing band. In the period since 1997 they have released more than 15 singles.

In 1998 Wind participated at the German national final for the ESC again, with the song Laß die herzen sich berühren they came 5th. In 1999 Wind came 10th with the song Lost in love.

Since the late 1990s, Wind consisted of Andreas Lebbing (who sang lead on Lass die Sonne in dein Herz in the 1987 Eurovision Song Contest), Nastasja Marinkovic, Albert Oberloher, and Iris Remmertz (later Criens). Marinkovic left the group briefly in 2005 and was replaced by Angela Kötzsch; she returned to the group in 2006.

In late 2008, Albert Oberloher left Wind to pursue his own interests. According to his website, he left the band "due to different ideas about the artistic direction (of the group).

Wind continued from there as a trio with Andreas Lebbing, Natasja Marinkovic, and Iris Criens. At the end of 2010, Marinkovic once again left the group, replaced by Carolin Frölian.

No comments:

Post a comment