Saturday, 1 October 2011

Festival OTI de la Canción

OTI Festival (Spanish: Festival OTI de la Canción) was an annual singing competition, held between 1972 and 2000, among active member countries of the Organización de Televisión Iberoamericana. The members of OTI are: Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Spain, Uruguay, Venezuela, Portugal and Brazil.

The prefix Ibero- refers to the Iberian peninsula in Europe, consisting of Spain, Portugal, Andorra, and Gibraltar. Ibero-America is formed by all Spanish-speaking countries in America, in addition to Brazil, which is Portuguese-speaking, but excludes the French-speaking countries Haiti, French Guiana, Martinique and Guadeloupe. The exclusion of the French-speaking regions differentiates Ibero-America from Latin America, as well as the inclusion of the European states of the Iberian peninsula if they are included in the definition. The English-speaking countries Belize, Guyana, Jamaica, Barbados, Antigua, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, Saint Kitts & Nevis, Trinidad and Tobago and Grenada, and the Dutch-speaking Suriname are also excluded from Ibero-America.

The 1st OTI Festival was won by Brazil with the song Diálogo sung by Claudia Regina y Tobías.

No comments:

Post a Comment