Tuesday, 18 September 2012

Eurovision Song Contest 1985


Date: May 4, 1985
Venue: Scandinavium, Gothenburg, Sweden
Presenter: Lill Lindfors
Conductor: Curt-Eric Holmquist
Director: Steen Priwin
Scruteneer: Frank Naef
Host broadcaster: SVT
Price presenter: Herreys
Interval act: Guitars Unlimited with Swedish Evergreens
Duration: 2 hours, 45 minutes
Number of entries: 19
Debuting countries: -
Returning countries: Greece, Israel
Withdrawing countries: Netherlands, Yugoslavia
Winning Song: La det swinge - Bobbysocks!, Norway
Voting system: Each country awarded 12, 10, 8-1 points to their 10 favourite songs


01. Maria Christian - Wait until the weekend comes (6th place, 91 points)
02. Finland: Sonja Lumme - Eläköön elämä (9th place, 58 points)
03. Cyprus: Lia Vissi - To katalava arga (16th place, 15 points)
04. Denmark: Hot Eyes - Sku' du spørg' fra no'en? (11th place, 41 points)
05. Spain: Paloma San Basilio - La fiesta terminó (14th place, 36 points)
06. France: Roger Bens - Femme dans ses rêves aussi (10th place, 56 points)
07. Turkey: MFÖ - Didai didai dai (14th place, 36 points)
08. Belgium: Linda Lepomme - Laat me nu gaan (19th place, 7 points)
09. Portugal: Adelaide - Penso em ti, eu sei (18th place, 9 points)
10. Germany: Wind - Für alle (2nd place, 105 points)
11. Israel: Izhar Cohen - Olé, Olé (5th place, 93 points)
12. Italy: Al Bano & Romina Power (7th place, 78 points)
13. Norway: Bobbysocks! - La det swinge (1st place, 123 points)
14. UK: Vikki - Love is (4th place, 100 points)
15. Switzerland: Mariella Farré & Pino Gasparini - Piano, piano (12th place, 39 points)
16. Sweden: Kikki Danielsson - Bra vibrationer (3rd place, 103 points)
17. Austria: Gary Lux - Kinder dieser welt (8th place, 60 points)
18. Luxembourg: Margo, Franck Olivier, Diane Solomon, Ireen Sheer, Chris & Malcolm Roberts - Children, Kinder, Enfants (13th place, 37 points)
19. Greece: Takis Biniaris - Miazzoume (16th place, 15 points

Linda Lepomme

The Eurovision Song Contest 1985 was the 30th Eurovision Song Contest and was held on May 4 1985 in Gothenburg, Sweden. The presenter was Lill Lindfors, and Norwegian duo Bobbysocks! was the winner of this Eurovision with the song La det swinge which was written by Rolf Løvland. Lill Lindfors opened the show by singing the song My joy is building bricks of music.


During the exciting voting, it was not immediately evident that Norway would win the Contest. Germany took a commanding lead in the first half, with Norway fifth place behind Germany, Sweden, Italy and the United Kingdom around the end of the first half of voting. Finally, with five juries left, Germany, Sweden and Norway were tightly wrapped around the pole positions with 87, 86, and 85 points respectively.

Takis Biniaris

At that point, Sweden briefly took the lead away from Germany (who received no points from Switzerland). Sweden was the fourth-to-last jury, conceding their brief lead by awarding Germany eight points and Norway the full twelve. With only three countries left to vote, Norway kept the lead, in one of the shortest winning stretches during voting in the Contest's history.

It is interesting to note that Norway scored the maximum 12 points from eight countries, just one short of Germany's record of nine in 1982. However, the Norwegian duo scored a total of just 27 points from the other ten juries (with no country awarding them 8 or 10 points). The winning score of 123 points is the lowest since the current scoring system was implemented in 1975. However, the winning score was broken at the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2009 with a Netherlands win with 121 points and broken again in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2010 with a Armenia win with 120 points. With increasing number of participating nations it is very unlikely to win any future Eurovision Song Contest with lower result.

Paloma San Basilio

The winner

La det swinge is a tribute to dancing to old rock 'n' roll heard on the radio. Befitting the subject matter, the song itself is written in an old-fashioned style, with a memorable saxophone melody setting the chorus off. The melody arrangement is in retro style, containing elements of contemporary 1980s music and throwbacks to the 1950s.

The song was performed thirteenth on the night and at the close of voting, it received 123 points, placing 1st in a field of 19.

For their Eurovision appearance, the two members - Hanne Krogh and Elisabeth Andreasson - appeared in sparkling, bright purple jackets, worn over black and white outfits; Hanne Krogh sported a striking, black-and-white striped floor-length gown.
Kikki Danielsson

Following their win, the single La det swinge peaked at #1 in the Norwegian and Belgian singles chart, and entered the charts in Denmark, Sweden, Switzerland, Austria, Ireland, United Kingdom to name a few.

Bobbysocks!' win for Norway was the country's first. Host Lill Lindfors, upon Norway's win, congratulated Hanne Krogh and Elisabeth Andreassen of Bobbysocks! by saying, I must say I am honestly very happy that this happened because Norway has been last on so many times that you really deserve it! Krogh replied, You're happy? What do you think we are?! After an energetic reprise, the two women embraced to a standing ovation from the audience.

Participating countries

The Netherlands and Yugoslavia did not participate in this Contest, due to the national Remembrance of the Dead in the Netherlands, and the anniversary of the death of Josip Broz Tito in Yugoslavia.The song from Spain was the big favourite for the juries but finally came 14 in a field of 19.

 Gary Lux

Returning artists

Also is this year known to be the year in the History of the Eurovision Song Contest, where most of artists, 13 at all, made a comeback. This also applied to the winners, Bobbysocks! who had attended once before alone, Hanne Krogh as solo performer for Norway in 1971, Elisabeth Andreassen for her second country, Sweden, in 1982, in a duet with Kikki Danielsson, which this year also made a comeback, for Sweden, and was thus competing with Elisabeth Andreassen & Bobbysocks!.

other returning artists
  • Gary Lux: Austria 1983, as a member of Westend and Austria 1984, as a backing vocalist for Anita
  • Lia Vissi: Greece 1980, as a member of the Epikouri
  • Hot eyes: Denmark 1984
  • Izhar Cohen: Israel 1978 
  • Al Bano & Romina Power: Italy 1976
  • Ireen Sheer: Luxembourg 1974 and Germany 1978
  • Kikki Danielsson: Sweden 1982, as a member of Chips
  • Pino Gasparini: Switzerland 1977, as a member of Pepe Lienhard Band
  • Mariella Farré: Switzerland 1983
Roger Bens

Notable facts

Lill Lindfors had a wardrobe malfunction (though technically, this is a misnomer, as the stunt was deliberate) as she was walking onstage for the voting session. As she walked on stage, her skirt fell off, leaving her with just her underpants on below. After a few moments of pretending to be shocked, Lill Lindfors removed the parts of her dress hidden inside itself, so that the full dress was visible afterwards.

This was Norway's first victory, since first participating in the contest since 1960, and coming in last place at the 1963, 1969, 1974, 1976, 1978 and 1981 contests. The presenter Lill Lindfors commented with Norway has come last so many times, so I really think you deserve this.

The original choice of Belgian entry was Vannacht performed by Mireille Capelle. A dispute concerning the lyric of the song was responsible for its withdrawal.

UK backing vocals were provided by Sue and Sunny. They had previously done the same job for Lulu in 1969 and Joy Fleming in 1975.

No comments:

Post a comment