Monday, 16 August 2010

Germany 1979

In 1979 Germany was represented at the Eurovision Song Contest 1979 by Dschinghis Khan with the song Dschinghis Khan. The song was composed by Ralph Siegel with lyrics by Bernd Meinunger.

The German national final to select their entry, Vorentscheid 1979, was held on March 17 at the Rudi-Sedlmayer-Halle in Munich, and was hosted by Caroline Reiber and Thomas Gottschalk. The winning song was chosen by the votes of approximately 500 people who were chosen by an institute to be representative of the German population.


01. Dschinghis Khan - Dschinghis Khan, 4807 points
02. Take it easy, altes haus - Truck Stop, 4394 points
03. Vogel der nacht - Paola, 4127 points
04. Samba si, arbeit no - Roberto blanco, 3461 points
05. Lady lady lady - Orlando Riva Sound, 3336 points
06. Madeleine - Bernhard Brink, 3326 points
07. Goodbye, Chérie - Hanne Haller, 3009 points
08. Du bist nicht frei - Ingrid Peters, 2894 points
09. Zuviel tequila, zuviel schöne mädchen - Tony Holiday, 2807 points
10. Was wir aus liebe tun - Jeanne de Roy, 2117 points
11. Wochenende - Jerry Rix & Linda G. Thompson, 1920 points
12. Ein blick sagt mehr als jedes wort - Gebrüder Blattschuß, 1673 points

Dschinghis Khan performed ninth at the ESC in Jerusalem. At the close of the voting the song had received 86 points, placing 4th in a field of 19 competing countries.


Dschinghis Khan was a West German pop band, created in 1979 to compete in the Eurovision Song Contest. The name of the band was chosen to fit the song of the same name, written and produced by Ralph Siegel with lyrics by Bernd Meinunger.

The band's song Moscow was a big hit in Australia in 1980, staying at number 1 for six weeks. The song was used as the theme music for the Channel 7 coverage of the Olympic games held in Moscow the same year.

While the group broke up in the mid-1980s, the German video for Moskau was a part of the show Disco on ZDF; as was their similarly staged number Dschinghis Khan

The group re-formed in late 2005 performing at the Olympiyski Arena in Moscow on December 17, 2005.

The band toured in 2006–2007 with singing and dancing group The Legacy of Dschinghis Khan and released the CD "7 Leben" (7 Lives). It was the band's first release since 2004's "Best of" compilation Jubilee.

The original members of the group were Louis Hendrik Potgieter, Steve Bender, Leslie Mándoki, Edina Pop and the husband and wife pair Wolfgang and Henriette Heichel.

In the second half of 2008, the band briefly entered Japanese music charts with the single Dschinghis Khan Tartar Mix, performed by the all-girl group Berryz Kobo and featuring Dschinghis Khan's original vocals. This version was a follow-up to the success encountered by Berryz Kobo's Dschinghis Khan cover. The music video for the new song had Berryz Kobo digitally superposed into Dschinghis Khan's original performance, so that they appeared to be performing together.

No comments:

Post a Comment