Tuesday, 31 August 2010

Swan Lee

Swan Lee was a Danish band featuring Pernille Rosendahl on vocals. The name was taken from a Syd Barrett song.

In 1996 Pernille Rosendahl formed a band with guitarist Jonas Struck, drummer Emil Jorgensen and her boyfriend Tim Christensen. After Christensen left in 1999, the remaining trio continued renaming the band Swan Lee. An entire album was recorded with Cannibal Records, but never released because of musical differences with the record label director Kim Hyttel, followed by lawsuits. Other record companies rejected them seeing a potential only in Rosendahl.

The band finally decided to establish their own record label, named GoGo Records, and in February 2001 released their debut album Enter. The album sold 20,000 copies and contained, the single Tomorrow Never Dies, written in collaboration with Tim Christensen. Enter peaked at position 27 in the Danish charts. In 2004, the band had another album, the self-titled Swan Lee which reached number one in the charts. The single I Don't Mind peaked at position three.[1]

For one of their albums Swan Lee covered the Danish entry for ESC 1963, Dansevise.

Swan Lee disbanded in September 2005.

No comments:

Post a Comment